Country's leading researchers recognised for remarkable efforts in medical research

Cape Town | Twelve of South Africa’s top medical researchers were honoured for their work in health sciences at the SAMRC Scientific Merit Awards held in Cape Town.

SAMRC President & CEO Professor Glenda Gray conferred Special Awards to Stellenbosch University’s Professor Jimmy Volmink and the SAMRC’s Professor Carl Lombard for their work, which has made exceptional contributions to medical research in South Africa.

The Platinum Awards for a lifetime of exemplary scientific achievement were presented to the University of Cape Town’s (UCT) Professor Bongani Mayosi and University of Pretoria’s Professor Robert Millar for their inspiring scientific research that has made an outstanding contribution to the health of people living in developing countries.

“It is inspiring that South Africa hosts such implausible scientists who continue to advance the state of health in our country,” said SAMRC President and CEO Professor Glenda Gray. “These individuals, like many the Council has acknowledged in the past, define what it means to be people centric.”

University of Witwatersrand (WITS) Professors Frederick Raal, Professor Viness Pillay, Professor Gavin Norton and University of Cape Town’s Professor Kelly Chibale received Gold Awards for their exceptional work, which has had major scientific breakthroughs in health research.

Silver Medals, awarded for major scientific contribution to research in health, were conferred to SAMRC’s Professor Ameena Goga, WITS University’s Professor Cheryl Cohen and Professor Sithembiso Velaphi and UCT’s Dr Mohlopheni Marakalala.

For more information please visit: or follow the SAMRC on Twitter and Facebook.

Release date: 
Thursday, October 13, 2016 - 09:29
Keletso Ratsela
Contact: Keletso Ratsela

Media Strategist
Tel: +27 71 214 5272