Reminder: Call for Nominations: SAMRC scientific Merit Awards 2018

Cape Town | Nominations for the 2018 the South African Medical Research Council’s (SAMRC) scientific merit awards will draw to a close on 31st May 2018.

In their fifth consecutive year, the prestigious awards recognise scientists whose work has had a monumental impact on health research in South Africa.

Platinum Medals are awarded for a lifetime of exemplary scientific achievement. Gold Medals are awarded to researchers who have made influential contributions that have impacted on health, while Silver Medals are awarded to up-and-coming scientists who have made important scientific contributions within ten years of receiving a PhD or MMed. The President’s Award, conferred at the discretion of the SAMRC President, is awarded to scientists who have made an exceptional life-long contribution to medical research.

Last year’s winners include eminent and internationally renowned epidemiologist, activist and medical doctor Professor Zena Stein who was conferred the President’s Award. Professor Stein was recognised for her commendable work in the field of maternal health. Professor Valerie Mizrahi received the Platinum award, while Professors Charles Parry, Gita Ramjee, Thumbi Ndung’u, Carolyn Williamson and Frank Tanser received gold awards for major contributions to medical research both nationally and internationally.

The SAMRC 2017 Silver medals were conferred to Professors Marian Loveday, Asley Van Niekerk, Nelesh Govender and Michelle Groom for their post-doctoral research that has made contributions to science.

The SAMRC Scientific Merit Awards winners will be announced at a gala dinner to be held on the 30th August 2018 at the SAMRC headquarters in Cape Town.

The submission deadline has been extended to 15 June 2018

For more information please visit:

Release date: 
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 14:35
Keletso Ratsela
Contact: Keletso Ratsela

Media Strategist
Tel: +27 71 214 5272