South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC) Scientific Merit Awards 2017

Call for nominations
Cape Town | The SAMRC is seeking nominations for the SAMRC Scientific Merit Awards 2017. Nominations open today, 08 March 2017 and close 08 May 2017.  The awards span more than five years and have recognised some of South Africa’s leading medical researchers and scientists. 

Platinum Medals are awarded for a lifetime of exemplary scientific achievement. Gold Medals are awarded to senior researchers who have made seminal contributions that have impacted on health while Silver Medals are awarded to up-and-coming scientists either from a MBBCH/MBCHb background or from a PhD background.

Last year’s winners include eminent and internationally renowned scientists such Professor Carl Lombard and Professor Jimmy Volmink who were both awarded the distinguished Presidents’ Award. The SAMRC’s platinum award was conferred to Professor Bongani Mayosi and Professor Rob Millar, while Professors Frederick Raal, Viness Pillay, Gavin Norton and Kelly Chibale received gold awards for major contributions to medical research both nationally and globally.

The SAMRC 2016 silver medal which was conferred for post-doctoral researchers whose work has made major scientific contributions was awarded to Professors Moholheni Marakalala, Professor Cheryl Cohen, Professor Sithembiso Velaphi and Professor Ameena Goga. This year, up to four silver medals will be awarded with preference given to SAMRC intra-mural and extra-mural researchers.

More information about the SAMRC Merit Awards can be accessed:

Call for Nominations poster

Release date: 
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 - 13:31
Keletso Ratsela
Contact: Keletso Ratsela

Media Strategist
Tel: +27 71 214 5272