Professor Keertan Dheda named among 23 new members following their election to ASSAf

Three Professor Keertan DhedaUniversity of Cape Town (UCT) professors have been elected to stand among South Africa’s leading scholars and scientists as members of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), while a UCT associate professor joined the ranks of the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS).

At the annual awards ceremony, held on 9 October 2019, professors Keertan Dheda, Genevieve Langdon and Ernesta Meintjes were named among 23 new members following their election to ASSAf by the full existing Membership. Dr Sudesh Sivarasu was one of 10 new SAYAS members inaugurated.

Dheda, head of the Division of Pulmonology in UCT’s Department of Medicine, is a National Research Foundation (NRF) A-rated scientist. In 2018, he was awarded the Scientific Leadership prize by the prestigious European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership, funded by the European Union.

Heading UCT’s Centre for Lung Infection and Immunity, Dheda has focused his research on the design and evaluation of user-friendly diagnostic tools and interventions for drug-sensitive and drug-resistant tuberculosis (TB). He has received several other notable awards, including the Harry Oppenheimer Fellowship Award and the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease Scientific Award.

View the complete article on UCT's website.