Grants, Innovation and Product Development

The SAMRC's Grants, Innovation and Product Development Unit (GIPD) manages all external grant processes (excluding the Career Award Programme) for strategic partnerships and innovative research projects.

The Team
Dr Michelle Mulder
Executive Director: Grants, Innovation
and Product Development

Tel: +27 21 938 0937
E-mail: michelle.mulder@mrc.ac.za
 
   
Ms Zoleka Ngcete
Programme Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0854
E-mail: zoleka.ngcete@mrc.ac.za
Dr Marlon Cerf
Senior Programme Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0818
E-mail: marlon.cerf@mrc.ac.za
 
Charlotte Mashaba
Project Manager - Technology 
Tel: +27 21 938 0302
E-mail: charlotte.mashaba@mrc.ac.za
 
Ms Rizwana Mia
Programme Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0984
E-mail: rizwana.mia@mrc.ac.za
 
Mr Clive Glass
Programme Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0225
E-mail: clive.glass@mrc.ac.za
 
Ms Candice Roux
Programme Manager  
Tel: +27 21 938 0820
E-mail: candice.roux@mrc.ac.za
 
Nkululeko Ndlovu
Project Manager: Technology
Tel: +27 21 938 0363
Email: nkululeko.ndlovu@mrc.ac.za
 
Mrs Manyeke Sengwana
Project Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0224
E-mail: manyeke.sengwana@mrc.ac.za
 
Earl Prinsloo
Project Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0317
Email: earl.prinsloo@mrc.ac.za
 
Grace Baloyi
Manager
Tel: +27 12 339 8605
Email: grace.baloyi@mrc.ac.za
Phetole Mahasha
Project Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0375
Email: phetole.mahasha@mrc.ac.za
 
Kubashni Woeber
Clinical Trials Programme Manager
Tel: +27 31 242 3730
Email: kubashni.woeber@mrc.ac.za
Nokwanda Ncube
Project Co-ordinator
Tel: +27 21 938 0216
Email: nokwanda.ncube@mrc.ac.za
 
Sibongile Mgidi
Project Co-ordinator
Tel: +27 21 938 0218
Email: sbongile.mgidi@mrc.ac.za
Mrs Nereshnee Moodley–Leepile
Chief Administration Officer - Administration
Tel: +27 21 938 0991
Email: nereshnee.moodley@mrc.ac.za
 
Mr Karabo Kgomo
Project Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0229
E-mail: karabo.kgomo@mrc.ac.za
Mr Morris Manuel
Chief Administration Officer
Tel: +27 21 938 0413
E-mail: morris.manuel@mrc.ac.za
Ms Anthea Van Blerk
Chief Administration Officer - Finances
Tel: +27 21 938 0990
Email: Anthea.VanBlerk@mrc.ac.za
Funding

The SAMRC is the largest local health research funder in South Africa. Along with its Intramural and Extramural Research Units, the SAMRC also funds a number of other health research programmes, including those focused on health innovation, through strategic partnerships and grants managed by the Grants Innovation and Product Development Unit (GIPD).

Research programmes selected for funding focus on the major health issues impacting South Africa and the rest of the world.

SAMRC Grant Programmes Strategic Partnerships
  • Strategic Health Innovation Partnerships (SHIP) – DST, NDOH and BMGF
  • Grand Challenges South Africa - BMGF
  • SAMRC-UK MRC Newton Fund
  • SAMRC- Forté (Sweden) Collaboration to Support Inequalities in Health and Health Systems
  • SAMRC-CIHR Healthy Life Trajectories Initiative (HeLTI)
  • US-South Africa Program for Collaborative Biomedical Research (NIH)
  • India- South Africa Collaborative Research Programme on HIV/AIDS and TB
 

View the General SAMRC Terms and Conditions of Funding.

Please note that some of the SAMRC’s funding programmes may include additional or alternative eligibility and funding criteria.

The GIPD Unit drives the SAMRC’s commitment to innovation through the following research and funding divisions:
(Please click on the image for more information on the various divisions and on Grants for more information on funding programmes.)