Grants, Innovation and Product Development

The SAMRC's Grants, Innovation and Product Development Unit (GIPD) manages all external grant processes (excluding the Career Award Programme) for strategic partnerships and innovative research projects.

The Team
Dr Michelle Mulder
Executive Director: Grants, Innovation
and Product Development

Tel: +27 21 938 0937
E-mail: michelle.mulder@mrc.ac.za
 
   
Ms Zoleka Ngcete
Programme Manager
SHIP Medical Devices
Grand Challenges South Africa
Tel: +27 21 938 0854
E-mail: zoleka.ngcete@mrc.ac.za
Dr Marlon Cerf
Senior Programme Manager
SAMRC-Newton Fund Programmes
HeLTI Programme
Tel: +27 21 938 0818
E-mail: marlon.cerf@mrc.ac.za
 
Mrs Nondwe Titi  
Project Manager  
TB Diagnostics Programme  
SAMRC-Newton Fund TB Implementation Science  
Tel: +27 21 938 0989
E-mail: Nondwe.zama@mrc.ac.za 
 
Ms Rizwana Mia
Programme Manager
SAMRC-Newton Fund Programmes
Precision Medicine / NCD Programme
TB Vaccines Programme
Tel: +27 21 938 0984
E-mail: rizwana.mia@mrc.ac.za
 
Mr Clive Glass
Grants Manager
Self-initiated Research Grants
Tel: +27 21 938 0225
E-mail: clive.glass@mrc.ac.za
 
Ms Candice Roux
Project Manager  
SAMRC-Newton Fund-GSK NCDs in Africa  
TB/ HIV Collaborating Centres & TB RePORT  
Tel: +27 21 938 0820
E-mail: candice.roux@mrc.ac.za
 
Mr Babalo Ntlebi
Junior Project Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0231
Email: babalo.ntlebi@mrc.ac.za
 
Mrs Manyeke Sengwana
Senior Scientist
Self-initiated Research Grants
Tel: +27 21 938 0224
E-mail: manyeke.sengwana@mrc.ac.za
 
Mrs Nereshnee Moodley–Leepile
Chief Administration Officer
Tel: +27 21 938 0991
Email: nereshnee.moodley@mrc.ac.za
 
Mr Karabo Kgomo
Junior Project Manager
Tel: +27 21 938 0229
E-mail: karabo.kgomo@mrc.ac.za
Ms Jo-Anne Valentyn
Senior Administration Officer
Self-Initiated Research Grants
Extra-mural Unit Review Administration
Tel: +27 21 938 0217
E-mail: jo-anne.valentyn@mrc.ac.za
Ms Anthea Van Blerk
Chief Administration Officer - Finances
Tel: +27 21 938 0990
Email: Anthea.VanBlerk@mrc.ac.za
Funding

The SAMRC is the largest local health research funder in South Africa. Along with its Intramural and Extramural Research Units, the SAMRC also funds a number of other health research programmes, including those focused on health innovation, through strategic partnerships and grants managed by the Grants Innovation and Product Development Unit (GIPD).

Research programmes selected for funding focus on the major health issues impacting South Africa and the rest of the world.

SAMRC Grant Programmes Strategic Partnerships
  • Strategic Health Innovation Partnerships (SHIP) – DST, NDOH and BMGF
  • Grand Challenges South Africa - BMGF
  • SAMRC-UK MRC Newton Fund
  • SAMRC- Forté (Sweden) Collaboration to Support Inequalities in Health and Health Systems
  • SAMRC-CIHR Healthy Life Trajectories Initiative (HeLTI)
  • US-South Africa Program for Collaborative Biomedical Research (NIH)
  • India- South Africa Collaborative Research Programme on HIV/AIDS and TB

View the General SAMRC Terms and Conditions of Funding.

Please note that some of the SAMRC’s funding programmes may include additional or alternative eligibility and funding criteria.

The GIPD Unit drives the SAMRC’s commitment to innovation through the following research and funding divisions:
(Please click on the image for more information on the various divisions and on Grants for more information on funding programmes.)